It’s Per$onal #19 – Age 23, Dallas, TX

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

its personal

Name:

Cynthia

 

How old are you?

23

 

Where do you live?

Dallas, TX

 

What is your highest level of education?

Bachelor’s

 

Are you single or married?

Single

 

If you are married, do you and your spouse have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any children or dependents? If yes, please explain.

No

 

What is your current monthly rent / mortgage?

1255

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

Fortunately, my finances have not been negatively impacted by Covid-19. I am saving at much higher rates due to decrease in traveling/eating out, which are things that I often splurged on prior to the pandemic.

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Revenue Management Analyst

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

$50,000 – $65,000

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

I love my job! I work for a major airline, so it comes with amazing travel benefits that are unbeatable. My job itself is challenging, but I’m surrounded by the best colleagues.

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

Yes, I deliver food with UberEats and DoorDash. I also sell clothes and other unused items on Poshmark, Mercari and Curtsy.

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

$1,000 – $2,000

 

Do you budget on a consistent basis? If so, please explain how you currently budget:

Yes, I have a zero-based budget so I track every dollar that comes in and goes out of my accounts.

 

Are you debt-free?

Yes

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

$30,000 in 11 months!

 

Do you have any student loan debt currently?

No

 

If yes, about how much student loan debt do you have?

N/A

 

What is your monthly student loan payment amount?

N/A

 

Do you have any credit card debt?

No

 

If Yes, about how much credit card debt do you have currently?

N/A

 

Do you have any other kinds of debt? If Yes, please explain:

N/A

 

Do you know what your credit score is?

Yes

 

If Yes, what is your credit score?

780

 

Are you currently saving for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have saved for retirement?

$2,000 – I just began saving for retirement about 2 months ago after finally becoming debt free and fully funding my 3 month EF.

 

What does an ideal retirement look like for you?

My biggest goal is to retire as early as possible – target is late thirties. I want to be able to travel often and spend more time with family.

 

What’s your biggest purchase of 2020 so far?

~$700 worth of car repairs in June

 

Biggest purchase of your life?

Definitely my education!

 

What do you spend money on that brings you joy?

Travel and designer handbags (I have a “treat yo self” fund in which I contribute to monthly in order to save up for these things)

 

What are your short term money goals, if any? ( < 1 year)

Max out Roth IRA, 401K, and HSA

 

What are your long term money goals, if any? ( > 1 year)

Save a 20% down payment for my first home purchase

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

Not really a concern, but I’m really hard on myself with my savings goals. I try to save at least 50% of my after-tax income each month which often leads me to feeling guilty about spending money on things that make me happy. I’m working on finding the right balance.

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

Paying off all of my student loans ($30K) in less than a year after graduating with my bachelor’s degree

 

Anything we didn’t ask about you that you want to include?

N/A

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

it's per$onal

 

Other posts you might like: 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.