It’s Per$onal #24 – Age 25, Columbus, OH

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

its personal

Name:

Shelby

 

How old are you?

25

 

Where do you live?

Columbus, OH

 

What is your highest level of education?

Bachelor’s

 

Are you single or married?

Married

 

If you are married, do you and your spouse have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any children or dependents? If yes, please explain.

No

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

$1010

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

Yes, I’ve been furloughed for five months and just started back this week. I’m an interior designer in the hospitality industry and we have been hit hard.

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Interior designer at a corporate hotel brand

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

$45,000 a year and the potential for bonuses (approximately 2%)

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

I do, but I wish that I would be paid more for the great work I’m doing. Despite asking both years I’ve been there, I have not had a significant increase in salary.

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

Instacart before covid and now don’t feel safe resuming that.

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

N/A

 

Do you budget on a consistent basis? If so, please explain how you currently budget:

We look at our meals for the week and try to only buy what’s necessary. We go to sams club once a month and stock up on anything we use often. Other than that, we are just very frugal and conscious spenders.

 

Are you debt-free?

No

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

Not debt free, but in two years I have paid off 40k and on track to pay the rest off at the end of the year

 

Do you have any student loan debt currently?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much student loan debt do you have?

Currently $20,000. Started at $60,000

 

What is your monthly student loan payment amount?

605

 

Do you have any credit card debt?

No

 

If Yes, about how much credit card debt do you have currently?

N/A

 

Do you have any other kinds of debt? If Yes, please explain:

I will be taking over the car title and loan from my mom once I pay off my student loans. That’s another $8k

 

Do you know what your credit score is?

Yes

 

If Yes, what is your credit score?

810

 

Are you currently saving for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have saved for retirement?

I graduated two years ago, company makes you wait a year. So only about $1,500 unfortunately

 

What does an ideal retirement look like for you?

Volunteering at dog shelter, traveling, not working, and ultimate dream is to buy a Nicholas sparks worthy home on a lake where I can sip my wine and watch the sun set over the lake!

 

What’s your biggest purchase of 2020 so far?

My dog!

 

Biggest purchase of your life?

My student loans

 

What do you spend money on that brings you joy?

Books, home items, crafts

 

What are your short term money goals, if any? ( < 1 year)

Pay off student loans and position myself for a promotion at work

 

What are your long term money goals, if any? ( > 1 year)

Max out Roth IRA every year, invest more, and save 50% of my income

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

If my job will furlough me again. Afraid that if I pay off my loans and then they do layoffs again that I will be in trouble and regret not saving that money.

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

Smashing my student loans so quickly. I graduated 2018 and so two years later I could pay off my student loans entirely but holding off on doing that because of job insecurity and Covid.

 

Anything we didn’t ask about you that you want to include?

N/A

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

it's per$onal

 Other posts you might like:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.