It’s Per$onal #29 – Age 27, Boston, MA

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

its personal

Name:

Sarah

 

How old are you?

27

 

Where do you live?

Boston, MA

 

What is your highest level of education?

Bachelor’s

 

Are you single or married?

Single

 

If you are married, do you and your spouse have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any children or dependents? If yes, please explain.

No

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

1075

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

Yes – was furloughed for 3 months earlier this year, and now back at work but with a 10% pay cut.

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Program Manager at an international education non-profit

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

$45,000

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

Yes! I have the best of both worlds getting to work to make education accessible for children living in poverty in rural areas of Central America, while also getting to work with American students who want to become active global citizens and fundraise for those programs.

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

No

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

N/A

 

Do you budget on a consistent basis? If so, please explain how you currently budget:

Yes! I like to write my budget out first by hand – there’s something about putting pen to paper. Then I use a combination of Mint and EveryDollar to stay on track, log my expenses, and make updates throughout the month.

 

Are you debt-free?

Yes

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

I paid off around $45k in student loans – it took roughly 4 years after I graduated, but 2 years of making it my main focus. I just finished earlier this summer!

 

Do you have any student loan debt currently?

No

 

If yes, about how much student loan debt do you have?

0

 

What is your monthly student loan payment amount?

0

 

Do you have any credit card debt?

No

 

If Yes, about how much credit card debt do you have currently?

N/A

 

Do you have any other kinds of debt? If Yes, please explain:

N/A

 

Do you know what your credit score is?

Yes

 

If Yes, what is your credit score?

792

 

Are you currently saving for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have saved for retirement?

About $30,000

 

What does an ideal retirement look like for you?

Lots of travel! I would love to have a small home as a base camp, but then spend time traveling abroad or renting an RV and driving across the United States. Lots of time outdoors and going on adventures mixed with time for relaxing, reading, volunteering, and spending time with loved ones.

 

What’s your biggest purchase of 2020 so far?

My degree ($45k)! Aka finishing paying off my loans haha. Other than that, I’ve been getting into running while in quarantine, so now that I’ve built up to pretty long distance runs, I also bought a Garmin fitness watch ($350) to upgrade from my $10 stopwatch from Walmart.

 

Biggest purchase of your life?

Also probably my degree? Other than that, my used 2006 Prius ($7k).

 

What do you spend money on that brings you joy?

Travel and food! I love going on trips and exploring new places solo and with friends – usually planned but also saved for with sinking funds so I can do things like buy a last-minute flight to London when there was a good deal, which I did with my best friend a few months pre-COVID. Other than travel, I love spending on meals out. Good food and good company are the perfect combination!

 

What are your short term money goals, if any? ( < 1 year)

Now that I’m debt-free and have built up my 6-month Emergency Fund, indulge in a couple things I’ve been putting off (a new couch, an updated wardrobe for the first time since college, a fitness membership) before I start to redirect that money towards savings for retirement.

 

What are your long term money goals, if any? ( > 1 year)

Work to lower my variable expenses so I can up my retirement savings. I also want to learn more about investing so that I can make more informed decisions with my money in that department.

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

General COVID anxiety. I’ve already been furloughed this year and came back to a 10% pay cut. I’m hopeful to continue in my job, as I love it, but as a non-profit, our funding depends heavily on donations and this is a tough time economically for so many people. I’m nervous that if we enter a prolonged recession, I will be laid off and need to find a new job – and nervous that finding a new job in a recession will be difficult.

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

I’m very proud of myself for paying off my student loans completely on my own. As everyone who has worked toward a financial goal knows, it took a lot of sacrifice and hard decisions. I live in a major city and there is always an expensive activity available! Making debt payoff my priority has definitely taught me financial habits I will use for the rest of my life, and I’m very grateful.

 

Anything we didn’t ask about you that you want to include?

N/A

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

it's per$onal

Other posts you might like:


Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
Picture of About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.

"It's Per$onal" is a super popular and anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women all over the world. Check it out!

If you like this post, you might like these, too!