It’s Per$onal #80 – Age 30, Charleston, SC

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

its personal

Name:

Court

 

How old are you?

30

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Charleston, SC

 

What is your highest level of education?

Doctorate

 

Are you single or married?

Married

 

If you are married, do you and your spouse have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any children or dependents? If yes, please explain.

No

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

1450

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

Husband furloughed to 32 hrs/week for several months, back to normal now

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Pharmacist

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

Meh, it pays the bills

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

No

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

N/a

 

Do you budget on a consistent basis? If so, please explain how you currently budget:

No, moreso just consciously limiting unnecessary spending

 

Are you debt-free?

No

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

N/a

Do you have any student loan debt currently?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much student loan debt do you have?

$40,000

 

What is your monthly student loan payment amount?

706

Do you have any credit card debt?

No

 

If Yes, about how much credit card debt do you have currently?

N/A

Do you have any other kinds of debt? If Yes, please explain:

No

 

Do you know what your credit score is?

Yes

 

If Yes, what is your credit score?

805

Are you currently saving for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have saved for retirement?

$45k in 401k

 

What does an ideal retirement look like for you?

Worry free and full of leisure 🙂

 

What’s your biggest purchase of 2020?

Built a deck on the back of our house

 

Biggest purchase of your life?

A house!

 

What do you spend money on that brings you joy?
Craft beer, hanging at breweries with friends

 

What are your short term money goals, if any? ( < 1 year)

Student loan debt free by end of 2021

 

What are your long term money goals, if any? ( > 1 year)

Remain debt free, fully funded emergency fund, learn more about investing

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

No real concerns, just super focused on debt pay off

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

I’ve paid off more in student loans in 2020 than I did in my first 4 years of paying off loans!

 

Anything we didn’t ask about you that you want to include?

Husband and I have paid off cars. He has about $30k in student loans but our finances are separate for those debts

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

it's per$onal

Other posts you might like:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.