It’s Per$onal #79 – Age 27, Canada

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

its personal

Name:

Linds

 

How old are you?

27

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Canada

 

What is your highest level of education?

Associate’s

 

Are you single or married?

Single

 

If you are married, do you and your spouse have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any children or dependents? If yes, please explain.

No

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

0

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

Yes

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Furloughed from job

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

37,000

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

I like the work I do, and the team I work with

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

Yes, I occasionally do freelance graphic design

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

$0-$500, if I had any business that month

 

Do you budget on a consistent basis? If so, please explain how you currently budget:

Yes, I use a Google sheet to keep track with two columns to match what’s in my chequing account and what’s in my savings

 

Are you debt-free?

No

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

N/a

Do you have any student loan debt currently?

No

 

If yes, about how much student loan debt do you have?

N/a

 

What is your monthly student loan payment amount?

N/a

Do you have any credit card debt?

No

 

If Yes, about how much credit card debt do you have currently?

N/A

Do you have any other kinds of debt? If Yes, please explain:

Yes, I have a personal loan I’m paying off

 

Do you know what your credit score is?

Yes

 

If Yes, what is your credit score?

800, based on Equifax. 754, based on Transunion.

Are you currently saving for retirement?

No

 

If yes, about how much do you have saved for retirement?

N/a

 

What does an ideal retirement look like for you?

I’d love to retire early, or at least semi-retire around 50-55

 

What’s your biggest purchase of 2020?

A much needed, new laptop.??

 

Biggest purchase of your life?

My car!

 

What do you spend money on that brings you joy?
I tend to splurge on hair and skin products, but only things that I know work well for my hair or skin.

 

What are your short term money goals, if any? ( < 1 year)

Building an emergency fund of 3-6 months

 

What are your long term money goals, if any? ( > 1 year)

Saving for a house/vacation/retirement

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

Going back to work or finding a new job, so I don’t have to rely on EI

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

Paying off my credit card during a pandemic

 

Anything we didn’t ask about you that you want to include?

I’d like to add that I live at home so that is why my rent is $0, though before the pandemic I was paying ~$50 for my cats food and litter, plus buying my own groceries.

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

it's per$onal

Other posts you might like:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.