It’s Per$onal #88 – Age 29, Jacksonville, FL

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

its personal

How old are you?

29

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Jacksonville, FL

 

Do you like where you currently live? Why or why not?

For the most part! I grew up here and family is here.

 

What is your highest level of education?

Master’s

 

Are you single / in a relationship / married?

In a relationship

 

If you are in a relationship / married, do you and your partner have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any children / dependents?

No

 

Do you have any pets?

4 cats between my boyfriend and I

 

Related content:

 

Do you find it easy or hard to make friends?

Hard

 

Do you have any hobbies? Please explain.

Running, weightlifting, paddle-boarding

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

No

 

About how much do you spend on groceries each week?

100-150 but split in half with my boyfriend

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

1780

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Finance- Sr Accountant

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

The type of work, yes! The company-no.

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

82,000

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

No

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

N/A

 

Have you ever been promoted at work? Please elaborate if so.

Not at my current company, I’ve only been there 9 months. At my previous company of 8 years…yes promoted several times through various departments ultimately ending in finance.

Two large promotions-one from hourly to salary post bac graduation and then another from entry level to senior level approx 6 months after joining finance team.

 

Have you ever negotiated your salary?

Not enough! I wish I had negotiated more for my current job, I went through a third party recruiter who led me to believe the range was tapped out.

 

Are you debt-free?

No

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

N/A

If you do have debt, what kinds of debt (i.e. credit cards, student loans, car) and how much debt do you have?

Started with CC, car, and student loans totaling 134k. Currently at 81k.

 

Are you currently investing for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have invested for retirement?

4k- only started 9 months ago ?

 

What’s been your favorite purchase of 2021 so far?

Gym membership/ dbft workout programs

 

What’s one piece of advice you’d give to your younger self? (Doesn’t have to be money-related)

Take time to set goals and then work toward them! (And don’t quit running)

 

What are your money goals, if any?

Keep chugging along at student loans. Start saving for a house.

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

Not a huge concern, but not saving enough/being as strict as I could be with budget.

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

Paid off 12k of credit card debt in 6 months when starting debt free journey. Cash flowed 6 months off work, vacations, and second masters degree while still paying down debt.

 

What makes you imperfect?

I’m a Virgo in pursuit of perfection that doesn’t exist! I am overly hard on myself.

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

it's per$onal

Other posts you might like:


Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
Picture of About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.

"It's Per$onal" is a super popular and anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women all over the world. Check it out!

If you like this post, you might like these, too!