It’s Per$onal #89 – Age 29, Fullerton, CA

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

its personal

How old are you?

29

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Fullerton, CA

 

Do you like where you currently live? Why or why not?

Yes, I do! Love the diversity of our city, and our top-rated schools.

 

What is your highest level of education?

Bachelor’s

 

Are you single / in a relationship / married?

Married

 

If you are in a relationship / married, do you and your partner have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any children / dependents?

No, but I am expecting – this is my first baby.

 

Do you have any pets?

Yes, a cat.

 

Related content:

 

Do you find it easy or hard to make friends?

I have always found it hard to make friends. However with the current friends I do have, it seems to be harder to find common interests, once we are at different stages of life (ie some friends are not in committed relationships/seriously dating, and I am now married).

 

Do you have any hobbies? Please explain.

I enjoy trying new restaurants, reading personal finance books, and taking spin classes.

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

Fortunately for my husband and I, no. We were very privileged in this regard, as we both received pay increases and bonuses.

 

About how much do you spend on groceries each week?

Usually around $150, though some weeks it could be more.

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

1550

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Sales Rep

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

Yes, I do. My coworkers are great, and the benefits are awesome (compared to the last company I worked at). There is a lot of opportunity for growth at my company.

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

$52,600 + end of fiscal year bonus

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

No

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

N/A

 

Have you ever been promoted at work? Please elaborate if so.

Yes, at my first full time job out of college – I received two promotions.

 

Have you ever negotiated your salary?

Yes

 

Are you debt-free?

No

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

N/A

 

If you do have debt, what kinds of debt (i.e. credit cards, student loans, car) and how much debt do you have?

Around $3,000 in credit card debt. I was fortunate enough to have my parents pay off my student loans ($29,000) while they were in forbearance a few months ago.

 

Are you currently investing for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have invested for retirement?

$8,100 in Roth IRA

 

What’s been your favorite purchase of 2021 so far?

An upgraded wedding band for my husband (worth $3,500); his original wedding band was a $50 tungsten ring.

 

What’s one piece of advice you’d give to your younger self? (Doesn’t have to be money-related)

Open an brokerage account ASAP and start investing!

 

What are your money goals, if any?

Purchase a home before my first child starts grade school (because SoCal real estate is not cheap), be able to fully fund a college education for my children.

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

Missing an opportunity to buy a home at the right “time” in the market because we lack the funds for a decent down payment.

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

Paying off my car loan and all wedding-related debt, within nine months after my wedding.

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

it's per$onal

Other posts you might like:

 


Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
Picture of About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.

"It's Per$onal" is a super popular and anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women all over the world. Check it out!

If you like this post, you might like these, too!