It’s Per$onal #90 – Age 24, Chicago, IL

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

its personal

How old are you?

24

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Chicago, IL

 

Do you like where you currently live? Why or why not?

Recently moved, so I’m still discovering the city

 

What is your highest level of education?

Bachelor’s

 

Are you single / in a relationship / married?

relationship

 

If you are in a relationship / married, do you and your partner have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any children / dependents?

No

 

Do you have any pets?

No

 

Related content:

 

Do you find it easy or hard to make friends?

Easy

 

Do you have any hobbies? Please explain.

I like to play tennis and read.

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

Yes, I lived in NYC throughout most of the pandemic, so I was able to negotiate my rent down. Due to the lockdown, I also saved more.

(For reference, in NYC, my salary was higher at $96,000 & I paid $2,200 monthly rent.) During the summer, I moved home, so I’m able to save even more by not paying rent.

 

About how much do you spend on groceries each week?

$100

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

0

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

analyst

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

I’m only a few weeks into the job, so I’m not sure! So far it’s great, though. 🙂

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

72,500

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

No

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

n/a

 

Have you ever been promoted at work? Please elaborate if so.

n/a

 

Have you ever negotiated your salary?

Yes

 

Are you debt-free?

Yes

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

$10,000 and 6 months

If you do have debt, what kinds of debt (i.e. credit cards, student loans, car) and how much debt do you have?

n/a

 

Are you currently investing for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have invested for retirement?

6,200

 

What’s been your favorite purchase of 2021 so far?

Peloton!

 

What’s one piece of advice you’d give to your younger self? (Doesn’t have to be money-related)

Stay true to yourself especially through moments of growth. Don’t change for others and learn to prioritize your own needs.

Money-related: saving is tough, but open an account (investment, saving, etc.) & put in even the smallest amount. It’ll make a difference in the long run!

 

What are your money goals, if any?

I’d like to grow my net-worth significantly, start putting money into a 401k, and keep investing and learning about the stock market.

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

None for the most part. I just want to stay on track with consistently putting money aside (saving, investing).

I can be a little spend-y, so I’m trying to avoid any big purchases if they’re not necessary.

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

Being able to pay off my loan.

 

What makes you imperfect?

Financially, I love to splurge haha But, I’m trying to go through a pro/con list for bigger purchases, look at my spending & savings, to see if I can justify a purchase without getting too behind on my money goals!

At the end of the day though, I don’t want to limit myself from cutting back on items or experiences, so I’m figuring it out!

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

it's per$onal

Other posts you might like:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.