It’s Per$onal #124 – Age 44, Boston, MA

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

How old are you?

44

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Boston, MA

 

Do you like where you currently live? Why or why not?

Family is here, so it’s nice. But as soon as kids are out of high school, I’ll be selling the house and either moving out of state or downgrading.

I’ve stayed in this house to keep the kids consistent in the school district but it is definitely more house than I’d to have and it’s expensive!

 

What is your highest level of education?

Bachelor’s

 

Are you single / in a relationship / married?

Divorced, in a relationship

 

If you are in a relationship / married, do you and your partner have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any children / dependents?

Yes, 3 – 17,15,14

 

Do you have any pets?

No

 

Do you find it easy or hard to make friends?

Very hard. Single working mom of 3 in a step ford town. I just don’t fit in. Divorce is treated like a disease, and I work hard, where I think most think I should be focused on the kids 100%.

I think my work ethic actually really is great for the kids to see and how aggressive I am.

 

Do you have any hobbies? Please explain.

Yes – working out, concerts, live sports, traveling with my kids

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

Yes, but positively. While it was hard to keep having to work and home school the kids, I work in grocery retail and we benefited from people being forced to stay home.

 

About how much do you spend on groceries each week?

$250

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

4222

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Director of Operations Support

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

I’ve done it a long time and it’s very easy for me, so for that I love it because it lets me be with the kids as needed and I can still do a good job.

Now that I am solidified after divorce, I’ve started to invest in real estate and that really excites me!

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

$207K base salary, but with bonuses etc I made $371K last year

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

Yes – Bought my first STR last year, and that’s been awesome. I also have tried to do some content creation but it’s been a slow go on that one. I want to do it anonymously, but it’s hard to know how to get it really going.

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

$44K a year (prorated) for the STR, nothing on CC yet.

 

Have you ever been promoted at work? Please elaborate if so.

Yes – I’ve been in the same org for 22 years (Dumb? Or Lucky? IDK). I also have received several awards

 

Have you ever negotiated your salary?

Nope

 

Are you debt-free?

No

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

N/A

 

If you do have debt, what kinds of debt (i.e. credit cards, student loans, car) and how much debt do you have?

Mortgage on main house and on STR, Car loan.

 

Are you currently investing for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have invested for retirement?

%5 with company match into 401k

 

What’s been your favorite purchase of 2022 so far?

Remodeled the kids bath with a great tub!

 

What’s one piece of advice you’d give to your younger self? (Doesn’t have to be money-related)

Follow your gut and passion. Don’t let other people’s weakness lower your confidence

 

What are your money goals, if any?

Have the kids have minimal debt for college, get out of corporate life ASAP via side hustles, impart my life lessons on money on the kids

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

How we will pay for college for the kids

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

Keeping the kids in this house after the divorce and being able to handle life in general after divorce

 

What makes you imperfect?

Being risk averse. Life would be much more enjoyable if I could stress less and take a leap or two.

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

it's per$onal


2 Responses

    1. Hi Kristen!! So happy you love them 🙂 And that’s a great question, I should’ve added that context! I believe it means “Short Term Rental”. Trulia’s definition: “A short term rental is an apartment or other rental property with a lease shorter than a traditional 12-month lease—often six months or less”. Hope this helps!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.