It’s Per$onal #93 – Age 26, Atlanta, Georgia

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

its personal

How old are you?

26

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Atlanta, Georgia

 

Do you like where you currently live? Why or why not?

Yes – I grew up here! There’s so much to do whether it’s exploring in the city or hiking.

 

What is your highest level of education?

Master’s

 

Are you single / in a relationship / married?

Engaged!

 

If you are in a relationship / married, do you and your partner have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any children / dependents?

No

 

Do you have any pets?

3! 2 cats and a dog.

 

Related content:

 

Do you find it easy or hard to make friends?

Easy

 

Do you have any hobbies? Please explain.

I love going to workout classes! Things like SoulCycle, pilates, Orange Theory.

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

No

 

About how much do you spend on groceries each week?

$100

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

1100

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Teacher

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

Yes! It’s stressful at times but I feel like I have more freetime than other careers.

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

Around 60,000

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

Yes, I tutor my younger cousins occasionally.

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

Maybe $100-$200 a month!

 

Have you ever been promoted at work? Please elaborate if so.

No – I have been a regular classroom teacher since I started but I am working towards becoming an assistant principal.

 

Have you ever negotiated your salary?

No – Our salarys at government employees are set with no room for negotiation.

 

Are you debt-free?

No

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

I am not debt free.

 

If you do have debt, what kinds of debt (i.e. credit cards, student loans, car) and how much debt do you have?

I have student loan debt. The current balance is about $13,600.

 

Are you currently investing for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have invested for retirement?

Between my Teachers Retirement Pensions, personal investment accounts and 403b I have around $36,000 in investments.

 

What’s been your favorite purchase of 2021 so far?

My and my fiancé just bought a house!

 

What’s one piece of advice you’d give to your younger self? (Doesn’t have to be money-related)

Do NOT buy a new car. Drive a car without a loan until the wheels fall off… LITERALLY!

 

What are your money goals, if any?

I’d like to reach 100,000 in retirement accounts by 30.

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

I am working towards heavily investing in my 20’s and paying off my student loans before having children and having to scale back a bit.

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

I paid off my car earlier this year!

 

What makes you imperfect?

Some months my budget is TERRIBLE! Everyone makes mistakes but it’s important to be aware and notice those mistakes so you can move forward proactively.

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

it's per$onal

Other posts you might like:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.