It’s Per$onal #132 – Age 28, Jax, FL

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

What is your name?

Stephanie @iwastoldtochangethis on instagram

 

How old are you?

28

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Jacksonville, FL

 

Do you like where you currently live? Why or why not?

Yes, fantastic weather and lots to do!

 

What is your highest level of education?

Master’s

 

Are you single / in a relationship / married?

Single

 

If you are in a relationship / married, do you and your partner have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any children / dependents?

Yes, a 13 month old son

 

Do you have any pets?

No

 

Do you find it easy or hard to make friends?

It’s easy once I’m actually able to get out, but it’s become hard as a single mom with no family nearby

 

Do you have any hobbies? Please explain.

Working out, walking, cooking, baking, and hanging out with my friends and baby

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

Yes

 

About how much do you spend on groceries each week?

$70

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

1944.45

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Human Resources Manager

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

I like my job but not my company

 

Looking for a new job? Track your interviews with this FREE Interview Tracker!
interview tracker

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

$55,000 (supposed to increase to $60,000 in December)

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

No, but I used to. They let me go when I moved from GA to FL a few months ago because they wanted me to live in the state.

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

I used to make $45,000 per year

 

Have you ever been promoted at work? Please elaborate if so.

Yes, I went from Contracts Administrator to HR Manager in May 2022 (I’ve been at my company about 2.5 years)

 

Have you ever negotiated your salary?

Yes, I tried to negotiate when I got my promotion which is why I am supposed to get a pay increase in December. If I hadn’t negotiated it would have stayed around $55k

 

Are you debt-free?

Yes

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

52,000 and it took me about 4 years

 

If you do have debt, what kinds of debt (i.e. credit cards, student loans, car) and how much debt do you have?

I have my mortgage on my primary home (condo) and my rental property (house). Debt free aside from those.

 

Are you currently investing for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have invested for retirement?

49000

 

What’s been your favorite purchase of 2022 so far?

My new condo

 

What’s one piece of advice you’d give to your younger self? (Doesn’t have to be money-related)

Start investing earlier!

 

What are your money goals, if any?

Retire by 45 and allow my son to go to college completely debt-free plus have money left over to help him start his adult life with a nest egg!

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

Inflation. Things like groceries, gas, and daycare take up the majority of my budget and even when I’m pinching pennies I’m only able to invest $200 total each month. That’s not enough to save for retirement or my son’s college and it’s a scary feeling.

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

Paying off my debt and completing my emergency fund! Also, all of my real estate purchases have worked out really well for me.

 

What makes you imperfect?

My lack of self-discipline. I’ll be good for a long time and then just binge on whatever I’ve been restricting (food, impulse purchases, etc)

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

it's per$onal


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.