It’s Per$onal #141 – Age 39, Lawrence, KS

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

How old are you?

39

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Lawrence, KS

 

Do you like where you currently live? Why or why not?

Id rather live in North Carolina, as we have family there, but our town is a great place to raise a family.

 

What is your highest level of education?

Master’s

 

Are you single / in a relationship / married?

Married

 

If you are in a relationship / married, do you and your partner have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any children / dependents?

Yes we have three sons 13, 10, and 5

 

Do you have any pets?

2 dogs

 

Do you find it easy or hard to make friends?

Yes and no. I have friends that I adore, but it’s rare I forge new relationships.

 

Do you have any hobbies? Please explain.

Running, yoga, swimming, and selling on eBay.

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

Not significantly.

 

About how much do you spend on groceries each week?

$150

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

1800

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Teacher

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

Yes

 

it's personal

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

54,000. My husband makes 90,000

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

Yes, eBay.

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

15,000

 

Have you ever been promoted at work? Please elaborate if so.

Nope

 

Have you ever negotiated your salary?

Nope

 

Are you debt-free?

Yes

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

$30k in student loans. 3 years.

 

If you do have debt, what kinds of debt (i.e. credit cards, student loans, car) and how much debt do you have?

N/A

 

Are you currently investing for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have invested for retirement?

500,000

 

What’s been your favorite purchase of 2022 so far?

A $30 wedding ring set on Amazon that all my friends thought was real ?

 

What’s one piece of advice you’d give to your younger self? (Doesn’t have to be money-related)

Be more aggressive with investments. My goal was to pay off our home. We still owe $80k on a $550k home and I honestly wish we owed more and also had a few more rental properties (we only have one).

 

What are your money goals, if any?

Retire at 65 and buy a condo in Wrightsville beach NC

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

Paying for three boys to attend college.

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

Buying a rental home.

 

What makes you imperfect?

Not having the answers, but committing to a strong financial future.

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

it's per$onal


Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
Picture of About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.

"It's Per$onal" is a super popular and anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women all over the world. Check it out!

If you like this post, you might like these, too!