It’s Per$onal #145 – Age 38, Australia

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

How old are you?



Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)



Do you like where you currently live? Why or why not?

Love it. I’m a short walk to the beach which is my happy place.


What is your highest level of education?



Are you single / in a relationship / married?



If you are in a relationship / married, do you and your partner have joint or separate finances?


Do you find it easy or hard to make friends?

I’m quite the introvert and struggle with making the first move!


Do you have any hobbies? Please explain.

Reading, walking, podcasts and a whole heap of other stuff I don’t get time for!


Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

Working more (healthcare) = more money, but the cost of living increases is killing me


About how much do you spend on groceries each week?

$400 AUD ($268 USD)


What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

3400 ($2,277 USD)


What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”



If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

Love it! Love the connections to patients, the people I work with and the feeling of making a difference.


it's personal

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

85000 ($56,933 USD)


Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

I do care plans and health assessments for patients out of my usual hours and am paid per plan/assessment


If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

700-1000 (USD $469 – $670)


Have you ever been promoted at work? Please elaborate if so.

Yes, now in a senior nurse management role.


Have you ever negotiated your salary?

On a regular basis. I can easily justify it with the amazing nursing team we have.


Are you debt-free?



If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

I wish


If you do have debt, what kinds of debt (i.e. credit cards, student loans, car) and how much debt do you have?

750000 home loan (just built) – (USD $502,200)


Are you currently investing for retirement?



If yes, about how much do you have invested for retirement?

$600000 (USD $401,760)


What’s been your favorite purchase of 2022 so far?

Our new house


What’s one piece of advice you’d give to your younger self? (Doesn’t have to be money-related)

Travel more


What are your money goals, if any?

Be comfortable. Pay the mortgage off.


What is your #1 financial concern right now?

Keeping up with inflation!


What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

Being in the position to build a new home.


It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

it's per$onal

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Like this post? Share it on social!

About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.