It’s Per$onal #15 – Age 26, Providence, Rhode Island

It’s Per$onal is a completely anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances of women.

its personal

Name:

Lily

 

How old are you?

26

 

Where do you live?

Providence, RI

 

What is your highest level of education?

Master’s

 

Are you single or married?

Engaged

 

If you are married, do you and your spouse have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any children or dependents? If yes, please explain.

No

 

What is your current monthly rent / mortgage?

$1349

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

No

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

UX Researcher

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

$90,000

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

Yes! I love it. I’m insanely passionate about my career and love the teams I work with.

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

Not formally. I do go on Mechanical Turk and Prolific sometimes, but it’s not a regular thing. I have been looking for a part-time job, but it’s been tricky to find one that I could work around my 9-5.

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

N/A

 

Do you budget on a consistent basis? If so, please explain how you currently budget:

Yes – I have a Google Sheets template that I copy each month to track spending against our master budget.

 

Are you debt-free?

No

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

N/A

 

Do you have any student loan debt currently?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much student loan debt do you have?

85,000

 

What is your monthly student loan payment amount?

$743

 

Do you have any credit card debt?

Yes

 

If Yes, about how much credit card debt do you have currently?

$4,500

 

Do you have any other kinds of debt? If Yes, please explain:

Medical debt: now at $4,000 from a kidney stone removal I had to have right when the pandemic started. It was originally $6,500 (my out-of-pocket max with insurance), so I’ve paid it down from there since March.

 

Do you know what your credit score is?

Yes

 

If Yes, what is your credit score?

748

 

Are you currently saving for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have saved for retirement?

5% of each paycheck.

 

What does an ideal retirement look like for you?

Living comfortably near our family back in the Midwest, where I’ll still be able to do consulting work in my field on the side when I want or when I’m presented with an interesting project.

 

What’s your biggest purchase of 2020 so far?

My wedding dress! About $1,565 before alterations.

 

Biggest purchase of your life?

My car (2013 Chevy Spark, bought new in 2014).

 

What do you spend money on that brings you joy?

Right now, all our wedding-related stuff! We’re trying to keep it all under $18,000 (with help from our families), so it’s been a fun and creative challenge to try to make everything work.

 

What are your short term money goals, if any? ( < 1 year)

Pay off my credit card debt and build a sufficient emergency fund.

 

What are your long term money goals, if any? ( > 1 year)

Pay off all my (and my fiancé’s current) student loan debt and buy a house.

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

Increasing my net worth by paying down my debts.

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

I haven’t hit any big financial successes yet, so I think I’m just most proud of myself for taking my finances seriously and coming up with a plan to reach my goals and alleviate my concerns in the future.

 

Anything we didn’t ask about you that you want to include?

Nope 🙂

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

it's per$onal

 

Other posts you might like: 


Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
Picture of About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.

"It's Per$onal" is a super popular and anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women all over the world. Check it out!

If you like this post, you might like these, too!