It’s Per$onal #153 – Age 31, Boston, MA

 

It’s Personal is an anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women.

its personal

 

How old are you?

31

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Boston, MA

 

Do you like where you currently live? Why or why not?

Yes and no. I love how walkable the city is and it is very easy to go down to the cape. It is very expensive and hard to meet new friends.

 

Do you have any hobbies?

305 fitness (dance cardio), softball and taking sailing lessons that start next week

 

What is your highest level of education?

Bachelor’s

 

If you went to university/college, what school did you attend? What did you study?

Purdue University – Hospitality & Tourism Management

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Member Services Manager at a social city club

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

Yes and no. I like the hours and enjoy some of my fellow employees. I believe I am underpaid and not offered enough/great benefits

 

If you are currently employed, what is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation)? Feel free to include any bonuses or other compensation perks you may receive this year.

After taxes about $43,588 – annual bonus but this is also taxed

 

Have you ever been promoted at work? Please elaborate if so.

Yes. I started as the member services coordinator and then was promoted to manager. I feel that it is mostly the same work but now have a manager title.

 

Have you ever negotiated your salary? Please elaborate if so.

I negotiated when I got hired. There is an annual review with an automatic increase. I haven’t negotiated the increase before but may try to do this come January when the time comes. I may also start looking for a higher paying job with better benefits

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

No, I am considering a side hustle but don’t know what – may be easier to just get a higher paying job so I don’t have to spend my free time working

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

N/A

 

Are you single / in a relationship / married?

Single

 

If you are in a relationship / married, do you and your partner have joint or separate finances?

 

What is your monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

1900

 

About how much do you spend on groceries each week?

I have 2 meals at work so I don’t really grocery shop unless it’s on the weekends. Sometimes I just eat out v. buying groceries.

 

it's personal

 

Are you debt-free?

Yes

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

Never had debt

 

If you do have debt, what kinds of debt (i.e. credit cards, student loans, car) and how much debt do you have?

N/A

 

Are you currently investing/saving for your retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have invested/saved for retirement? Are you satisfied with this number?

Fidelity account currently at $27k – no, I wish I could invest more

 

What’s been your favorite purchase of 2023 so far?

Upcoming trip to Greece – very much looking forward to it

 

What’s one piece of advice you’d give to your younger self? (Doesn’t have to be money-related)

Save/invest, rethink your major

 

Do you have any current goals you want to accomplish? (Health, Fitness, Financial, Travel, etc.)

Continue daily movement, eating healthy, travel more and really work on getting financially fit

 

What are you struggling with in life at the moment, if anything?

Struggling mentally and making new friends. Feeling very isolated.

 

What accomplishments of yours are you most proud of?

Moving to a new city where I didn’t know many people

 

What makes you imperfect?

As Miley Cyrus says “nobody’s perfect” lol

 

Want to share this post with a friend?

Just copy and paste this link: https://imperfecttaylor.com/its-personal-153/

 

It’s Personal is an anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women.

 

it's per$onal

 


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.