It’s Per$onal #39 – Age 23, Memphis, TN

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

its personal

Name:

Stella

 

How old are you?

23

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Memphis, Tennessee

 

What is your highest level of education?

Bachelor’s

 

Are you single or married?

Single

 

If you are married, do you and your spouse have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any children or dependents? If yes, please explain.

No

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

595

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

Yes

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Registered Nurse

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

65,108

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

I just started a new job so we will see! So far, yes I like the company.

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

No

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

N/A

 

Do you budget on a consistent basis? If so, please explain how you currently budget:

Set amounts for bills that I review each month to make sure I’m staying on track and then amounts for things I will need to purchase that month that are not reoccurring purchases. I also budget how much I want to contribute to savings every month

 

Are you debt-free?

No

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

N/A

 

Do you have any student loan debt currently?

No

 

If yes, about how much student loan debt do you have?

N/A

 

What is your monthly student loan payment amount?

N/A

 

Do you have any credit card debt?

No

 

If Yes, about how much credit card debt do you have currently?

N/A

 

Do you have any other kinds of debt? If Yes, please explain:

I have a dental loan for a dental surgery that is 0% interest that I will pay off in one year as well as I financed a peloton recently for 0% as well

 

Do you know what your credit score is?

Yes

 

If Yes, what is your credit score?

715

 

Are you currently saving for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have saved for retirement?

3000

 

What does an ideal retirement look like for you?

Good question

 

What’s your biggest purchase of 2020 so far?

My peloton? But it was financed.. I haven’t purchased anything else even slightly large

 

Biggest purchase of your life?

…probably still the peloton lol

 

What do you spend money on that brings you joy?

Gym membership, clothes, skincare

 

What are your short term money goals, if any? ( < 1 year)

Save 30,000 before the end of 2020

 

What are your long term money goals, if any? ( > 1 year)

Put back 10% to retirement monthly, emergency fund

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

My wedding is approaching at the end of the month. My fiancé and I are paying for it all so I’m trying to stay on top of finances prior to that to ensure the aftermath is ok

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

Saving 20k in one year. No debt when I graduated from college and all current debt is accruing 0 interest

 

Anything we didn’t ask about you that you want to include?

N/A

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

it's per$onal

 
Other posts you might like:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.