It’s Per$onal #46 – Age 27, Alberta Canada

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

its personal




How old are you?



Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Alberta Canada


What is your highest level of education?



Are you single or married?



If you are married, do you and your spouse have joint or separate finances?


Do you have any children or dependents? If yes, please explain.



What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?



Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

My husband’s work slowed down a lot, he will probably make 50% of what he did last year.


What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Xray/CT tech


What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?



If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

I enjoy my job a lot. Everyday it’s something different.


Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.



If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?



Do you budget on a consistent basis? If so, please explain how you currently budget:

Yes, I write down everything in my budget journal and allocate a certain amount of money to each “account”


Are you debt-free?



If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?



Do you have any student loan debt currently?



If yes, about how much student loan debt do you have?



What is your monthly student loan payment amount?



Do you have any credit card debt?



If Yes, about how much credit card debt do you have currently?



Do you have any other kinds of debt? If Yes, please explain:

Car loan, 1 year left on it, but it’s also 0% interest so I’m not in a hurry to pay it off.


Do you know what your credit score is?



If Yes, what is your credit score?



Are you currently saving for retirement?



If yes, about how much do you have saved for retirement?

$80,000 plus a government pension


What does an ideal retirement look like for you?

Retired at 57, full pension maxed out and one million in retirement savings.


What’s your biggest purchase of 2020 so far?

Paid for our wedding in February with cash


Biggest purchase of your life?

Our house which I bought on my own with 20% down.


What do you spend money on that brings you joy?

I enjoy buying people gifts and going on trips.


What are your short term money goals, if any? ( < 1 year)

Save for a baby, and extra costs associated with a 12 month maternity leave.


What are your long term money goals, if any? ( > 1 year)

Save for my pension buy back once I come back from maternity leave


What is your #1 financial concern right now?

Not being able to retire at 57.


What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

My current income.


Anything we didn’t ask about you that you want to include?



It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.


it's per$onal

Other posts you might like:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Like this post? Share it on social!

About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.