It’s Per$onal #47 – Age 27, Rural Connecticut

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

its personal

Name:

Maggie

 

How old are you?

27

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Rural Connecticut

 

What is your highest level of education?

Master’s

 

Are you single or married?

Married

 

If you are married, do you and your spouse have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any children or dependents? If yes, please explain.

No

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

0

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

No

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Accountant

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

78,000

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

Yes, low stress and great work life balance (very unusual for accounting)

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

Yes, Etsy store

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

Not much. Maybe $100/month

 

Do you budget on a consistent basis? If so, please explain how you currently budget:

Budgeted obsessively pre-COVID. Now I’m in a routine of just paying the max on my loans and stop spending when my checking account hits zero, since I hardly leave the house. I leave very little money in checking to use and have sinking funds for any type of emergency.

 

Are you debt-free?

No

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

I wish

 

Do you have any student loan debt currently?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much student loan debt do you have?

115,000

 

What is your monthly student loan payment amount?

1230

 

Do you have any credit card debt?

No

 

If Yes, about how much credit card debt do you have currently?

N/A

 

Do you have any other kinds of debt? If Yes, please explain:

No

 

Do you know what your credit score is?

Yes

 

If Yes, what is your credit score?

769

 

Are you currently saving for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have saved for retirement?

15,000

 

What does an ideal retirement look like for you?

Have a house that’s paid off. Comfortably travel and not work. Nothing crazy though.

 

What’s your biggest purchase of 2020 so far?

Vacation in Feb (but was mostly paid for in 2019?)

 

Biggest purchase of your life?

My education – 150,000

 

What do you spend money on that brings you joy?

Love thrift store shopping because it’s relatively guilt free

 

What are your short term money goals, if any? ( < 1 year)

Get below 70k in debt.

 

What are your long term money goals, if any? ( > 1 year)

Pay off all student loans before turning 30

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

Student loans

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

Between my car, a credit card, and student loans, I have paid off 50k in about two years, one year with intensity

 

Anything we didn’t ask about you that you want to include?

Dogs are expensive to take care of but worth every penny

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

it's per$onal

Other posts you might like:


Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
Picture of About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.

"It's Per$onal" is a super popular and anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women all over the world. Check it out!

If you like this post, you might like these, too!