It’s Per$onal #49 – Age 22, Savannah, GA

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

its personal

Name:

Macie

 

How old are you?

22

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Savannah, GA

 

What is your highest level of education?

Bachelor’s

 

Are you single or married?

Engaged!

 

If you are married, do you and your spouse have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any children or dependents? If yes, please explain.

No.

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

1300

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

Yes, I was promoted in January pending completion of training. In March, I was laid off for a few weeks. In May I took on the ‘promotion’ with additional job duties, but did not receive the financial benefits, as I work for a small business that has been severally impacted.

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Marketing Assistant

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

$26,000

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

Yes, I love my job! I work remotely, and have a very flexible schedule. The work-life balance is something I really value.

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

Yes, I Door Dash on the side. I am currently seeking a side job in the marketing realm.

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

$200

 

Do you budget on a consistent basis? If so, please explain how you currently budget:

Yes! I use a Google Spreadsheet to track income, fixed expenses, fluctuating expenses, and every where I spend money.

 

Are you debt-free?

No

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

N/A

 

Do you have any student loan debt currently?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much student loan debt do you have?

$64,000

 

What is your monthly student loan payment amount?

750

 

Do you have any credit card debt?

No

 

If Yes, about how much credit card debt do you have currently?

N/A

 

Do you have any other kinds of debt? If Yes, please explain:

N/A

 

Do you know what your credit score is?

Yes

 

If Yes, what is your credit score?

758

 

Are you currently saving for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have saved for retirement?

$400

 

What does an ideal retirement look like for you?

Traveling! I aspire to be able to travel and enjoy life with my family upon retirement.

 

What’s your biggest purchase of 2020 so far?

Furniture for my new apartment!

 

Biggest purchase of your life?

My degree (in loans).

 

What do you spend money on that brings you joy?

Coffee! Getting coffee at local coffee shops is therapeutic for me.

 

What are your short term money goals, if any? ( < 1 year)

Pay off my smallest student loan – $5,600.

 

What are your long term money goals, if any? ( > 1 year)

Pay off all my student loans, buy a car cash, buy a house, pay for my wedding.

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

Saving for my wedding and buying a car.

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

N/A

 

Anything we didn’t ask about you that you want to include?

N/A

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

it's per$onal

Other posts you might like:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.