It’s Per$onal #52 – Age 29, Manila, Philippines

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

its personal

Name:

V

 

How old are you?

29

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Manila, Philippines

 

What is your highest level of education?

Bachelor’s

 

Are you single or married?

Married

 

If you are married, do you and your spouse have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any children or dependents? If yes, please explain.

N/A

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

2350

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

My husband and I were evacuated to the U.S. for five months and initially had to pay for our Airbnb’s and a rental car out of pocket, but eventually we were reimbursed after we returned to the Philippines. Additionally my husband had to take leave without pay for those five months.

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Diplomat

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

Around 95k

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

I absolutely love my career. I get to live all over the world and represent my country.

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

Rental income

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

2100 per month

 

Do you budget on a consistent basis? If so, please explain how you currently budget:

Yes, I use google sheets to track my budget, net worth, savings, expenses, and debt payoff.

 

Are you debt-free?

No

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

N/A

 

Do you have any student loan debt currently?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much student loan debt do you have?

48k

 

What is your monthly student loan payment amount?

630

 

Do you have any credit card debt?

No

 

If Yes, about how much credit card debt do you have currently?

N/A

 

Do you have any other kinds of debt? If Yes, please explain:

Mortgage

 

Do you know what your credit score is?

Yes

 

If Yes, what is your credit score?

755

 

Are you currently saving for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have saved for retirement?

72k

 

What does an ideal retirement look like for you?

Freedom to spend on what makes me happy without having to worry about my money.

 

What’s your biggest purchase of 2020 so far?

30k on Airbnb’s for 5 months

 

Biggest purchase of your life?

My condo

 

What do you spend money on that brings you joy?

Travel!

 

What are your short term money goals, if any? ( < 1 year)

Reach 120k net worth and max out my TSP and Roth IRA for the first time by the end of this year.

 

What are your long term money goals, if any? ( > 1 year)
Pay off all remaining student loan debt within 18 months.

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

Student loans

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

My husband and I managed to pay off 41k of debt this year despite having our income temporarily lowered due to COVID.

 

Anything we didn’t ask about you that you want to include?

I have no housing/rent cost while serving abroad and we rent out our condo in the U.S.. This has allowed me to put an extra 2-3k a month extra towards my student loans.

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

it's per$onal

Other posts you might like:


Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn

You'll Also Love...

It's Per$onal is an anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women.

It’s Per$onal #178 – Age 32, Valencia, CA

  How old are you? 32 Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.) Valencia, CA Do you like where you currently live? Why or why not? No, we want to move out of Los Angeles county. Valencia is nice but it’s temporary and there’s

Read More »
Picture of About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women. Learn more about Taylor here.

"It's Per$onal" is a super popular and anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women all over the world. Check it out!

If you like this post, you might like these, too!