It’s Per$onal #61 – Age 25, Las Cruces, NM

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

its personal

Name:

Yvonne

 

How old are you?

25

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Las Cruces, NM

 

What is your highest level of education?

Master’s

 

Are you single or married?

Single

 

If you are married, do you and your spouse have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any children or dependents? If yes, please explain.

No

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

560

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

Yes, I lost my job due to COVID-19 at the end of May. It took 3 months of job searching and being unemployed, but thankfully I was able to land a new job last month.

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

LMSW/Case Consultant

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

$58,000

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

I’ve only been at this job 1 month, but I am liking it so far! Work is fully remote and I get to make my own schedule which is nice. The flexibility has been great!

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

Yes! I have been teaching English online to kiddos in China since April of this year.

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

It varies based on how much I teach, but averages around $300/month

 

Do you budget on a consistent basis? If so, please explain how you currently budget:

Yes I budget by paycheck

 

Are you debt-free?

No

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

N/A

 

Do you have any student loan debt currently?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much student loan debt do you have?

$31,000

 

What is your monthly student loan payment amount?

200

 

Do you have any credit card debt?

No

 

If Yes, about how much credit card debt do you have currently?

N/A

 

Do you have any other kinds of debt? If Yes, please explain:

Yes, I currently have an auto loan that’s $10,985. This is the debt I am currently working on paying off.

 

Do you know what your credit score is?

Yes

 

If Yes, what is your credit score?

768

 

Are you currently saving for retirement?

No

 

If yes, about how much do you have saved for retirement?

I am going to start saving towards retirement soon with my new job.

 

What does an ideal retirement look like for you?

One where all of my expenses at the time will be covered, while still having money leftover so I can live comfortably and travel. I also hope to be 100% debt free.

 

What’s your biggest purchase of 2020?

I purchased a new Mac desktop for $1,200 ? it was all cash flowed!

 

Biggest purchase of your life?

My car. I purchased it 3 years ago and it cost me $27K. Looking back, I could have done without such an expensive car. I have vowed to never have a car payment again after I pay this one off

 

What do you spend money on that brings you joy?

I tend to splurge on skin care and beauty stuff. This is something I have not given up on my debt free journey.

 

What are your short term money goals, if any? ( < 1 year)

Right now, my short term goal is to payoff my car (which is the last of my consumer debt). After this, I am going to then tackle my student loans.

 

What are your long term money goals, if any? ( > 1 year)
My long term goals are to be debt free and invest in my retirement.

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

Paying off my car and soon after, my student loans.

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

I am most proud of how far I’ve come. Despite having had to get into debt, I was able to get my Masters degree, and as a first generation college student, I am most proud of this.

 

Anything we didn’t ask about you that you want to include?

N/A

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

it's per$onal

Other posts you might like:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.