It’s Per$onal #62 – Age 26, Ontario, Canada

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

its personal

Name:

Rianne

 

How old are you?

26

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

 

What is your highest level of education?

Bachelor’s

 

Are you single or married?

Single

 

If you are married, do you and your spouse have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any children or dependents? If yes, please explain.

No

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

500

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

No, I’ve remained working full time

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Lab technician

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

53,000

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

It’s a good job, but being forced to go into work during covid has inspired me to pursue a different career in the finance industry

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

When I’m not doing shift work at my full time job or studying for my licensing courses, I try to help out at my family’s restaurant a few times per month

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

300

 

Do you budget on a consistent basis? If so, please explain how you currently budget:

Yes- I allocate various dollar amounts of my paycheque to bills, investments, etc. every time I get paid and then decide how much I can spend for the month

 

Are you debt-free?

Yes

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

N/A- I was able to graduate from university debt-free

 

Do you have any student loan debt currently?

No

 

If yes, about how much student loan debt do you have?

 

What is your monthly student loan payment amount?

 

Do you have any credit card debt?

No

 

If Yes, about how much credit card debt do you have currently?

 

Do you have any other kinds of debt? If Yes, please explain:

 

Do you know what your credit score is?

Yes

 

If Yes, what is your credit score?

730- missing mortgage experience!

 

Are you currently saving for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have saved for retirement?

$27,000

 

What does an ideal retirement look like for you?

A happy, stress-free life, working because I love my job and taking mini-retirement vacations for a few months a year

 

What’s your biggest purchase of 2020?

Getting my brows microbladed next week! Took a lot of convincing myself but I fully funded my emergency fund first. Priorities! Haha

 

Biggest purchase of your life?

My dream car!

 

What do you spend money on that brings you joy?

I bought myself a car last year. It was my third year of working full time since graduating school and I had saved most of my income by having two jobs

 

What are your short term money goals, if any? ( < 1 year)

To save another $6000 before switching careers

 

What are your long term money goals, if any? ( > 1 year)

A future down payment on a house (3 years) and LOTS more for retirement

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

Having a shortage of income when I decide to switch to my new career full time and depend on commission

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

Buying my dream car at 25, and hitting a 100K net worth at 26

 

Anything we didn’t ask about you that you want to include?

My mom taught me the importance of saving money and investing at a young age. Start now and work hard when you have the opportunity to. You’ll thank yourself later!

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

it's per$onal

Other posts you might like:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.