It’s Per$onal #60 – Age 30, Brooklyn, NY

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

its personal


India W.


How old are you?



Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Brooklyn, NY


What is your highest level of education?



Are you single or married?



If you are married, do you and your spouse have joint or separate finances?


Do you have any children or dependents? If yes, please explain.



What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?



Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

Yes, my job was closed for 3-4 months completely.


What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”



What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?



If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

Yes, I like my job. Like every job, it has its ups and downs.


Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

Sometimes is freelance hairstyling, and babysitting for a few families.


If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

Varies. Sometimes it can be $200/month or even $500/month.


Do you budget on a consistent basis? If so, please explain how you currently budget:

I try to! My income varies week to week so I find it so hard to budget. Work in progress!! lol


Are you debt-free?



If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?



Do you have any student loan debt currently?



If yes, about how much student loan debt do you have?



What is your monthly student loan payment amount?



Do you have any credit card debt?



If Yes, about how much credit card debt do you have currently?



Do you have any other kinds of debt? If Yes, please explain:

Small Business loan of $15k. Not due to start repayment until 2021


Do you know what your credit score is?



If Yes, what is your credit score?



Are you currently saving for retirement?



If yes, about how much do you have saved for retirement?



What does an ideal retirement look like for you?

Free to travel, not worrying about debt. DEBT FREE COMPLETELY


What’s your biggest purchase of 2020?

MacBook Pro


Biggest purchase of your life?

My car, which is paid off.


What do you spend money on that brings you joy?

FOOD, or travel


What are your short term money goals, if any? ( < 1 year)

Grow my savings to $15k, invest


What are your long term money goals, if any? ( > 1 year)
Invest more, establish a savings account of at least $20k, pay off student loans completely


What is your #1 financial concern right now?

Creating plan to pay off student loans


What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

Getting savings to $10k all by myself.


Anything we didn’t ask about you that you want to include?



It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.


it's per$onal

Other posts you might like:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Like this post? Share it on social!

Picture of About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.