It’s Per$onal #69 – Age 27, Pt. Pleasant, NJ

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

its personal

Name:

Kayla

 

How old are you?

27

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Pt. Pleasant, NJ

 

What is your highest level of education?

Master’s

 

Are you single or married?

Single

 

If you are married, do you and your spouse have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any children or dependents? If yes, please explain.

No

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

0

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

No

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

HR Professional

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

86,000.00

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

Yes! I love my job and the people I work with. Not every day is a walk in the park, but it is a rewarding career being able to assist fellow employees in what they need.

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

No.

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

N/A

 

Do you budget on a consistent basis? If so, please explain how you currently budget:

I started budgeting in September of this year, and have since become obsessed. I follow a zero-based budget, and this month I am going to try and use cash envelopes to curb my emotional spending (at Target of course). I’ve also started sinking funds, and already have the funds allocated for two weddings I am attending, and I’ll be starting a christmas one this pay.

 

Are you debt-free?

No

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

N/A

Do you have any student loan debt currently?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much student loan debt do you have?

80k

 

What is your monthly student loan payment amount?

900.00

Do you have any credit card debt?

No

 

If Yes, about how much credit card debt do you have currently?

N/A

Do you have any other kinds of debt? If Yes, please explain:

Car lease, that I plan to buy out at the end of my lease in two years.

 

Do you know what your credit score is?

Yes

 

If Yes, what is your credit score?

765

Are you currently saving for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have saved for retirement?

I have a pension plan through my job. I would like to open an IRA or similar type of account soon.

 

What does an ideal retirement look like for you?

I want to be comfortable, have the ability to travel and if I have grandchildren, spoil them like my grandparents spoiled me.

 

What’s your biggest purchase of 2020?

My new car! Although I leased it and did not put any money down, I anticipate to buy it out and have already set aside $10k to do so, so when the time comes, I do not have to finance it.

 

Biggest purchase of your life?

Does my eduction count? Getting my masters degree has definitely been the biggest and most expensive purchase

 

What do you spend money on that brings you joy?
I’m the kind of person that sees something that is popular at the moment and think I need it right away. I’m a huge crafter, so crafting supplies are usually what get me, especially during quarantine. Prior to starting a budget, I would have told you I didn’t spend a lot, but boy did i! Although I don’t buy high price items, the smaller things I get add up quickly.

 

What are your short term money goals, if any? ( < 1 year)

I want to open an additional retirement account through my employer. I also want to have a fully funded emergency fund. I have a decent amount saved in what I call long term savings, but I would like to have at least 3-6 months of expenses saved in an emergency fund.

 

What are your long term money goals, if any? ( > 1 year)

After following a bunch of finance bloggers, I have really been inspired. I have a goal of having $100k saved on my own by 35. I’d prefer it to be 30….but I’d rather hit my goal sooner then 35 and be happy, then miss it and be disappointed. I also want to invest some money into real estate in the future.

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

My student loans! The amount and payment keep me up some nights. However, paying them off will be a little easier since I qualify for the student loan forgiveness program through my employer. If approved for reduced payments, I’ll pay about $40k and then hopefully $40k plus interest will be paid off.

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

I recently cancelled a policy that I thought was a retirement account….but really was just a waste of money. Old me would’ve felt too nervous to confront my “financial advisor”, but now, I realize how important every dollar I make is and how I want to be in control of my money. Simply cancelling the account has empowered me and I feel like I can breathe again.

 

Anything we didn’t ask about you that you want to include?

N/A

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

it's per$onal

Other posts you might like:


Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
Picture of About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.

"It's Per$onal" is a super popular and anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women all over the world. Check it out!

If you like this post, you might like these, too!