It’s Per$onal #77 – Age 24, Fayetteville, NC

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

its personal

Name:

Catalina

 

How old are you?

24

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Fayetteville, NC

 

What is your highest level of education?

Bachelor’s

 

Are you single or married?

Soon to be married

 

If you are married, do you and your spouse have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any children or dependents? If yes, please explain.

No

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

960

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

If anything it helped us financially because we weren’t able to go out and spend as much. The stimulus checks helped us pay for a lot of things we wanted and needed for our wedding

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Civilian federal employee

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

$54,796

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

Yes I love my job. I just started in February but I have a lot of independence and the ability to actually make a difference. There is also a lot of room for growth and improvement.

I’ll be moving up in the GS system very quickly because I was hired in a recent grad federal employment program

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

I baby and pet sit occasionally, I also work field agent jobs and sell on Mercari

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

$30-$50 on average

 

Do you budget on a consistent basis? If so, please explain how you currently budget:

Trying to find a budget method that works best for us. We do good at having money for bills but we struggle budgeting the money leftover or actually using it for what we budget it for

 

Are you debt-free?

No

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

N/a

Do you have any student loan debt currently?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much student loan debt do you have?

About $37,000

 

What is your monthly student loan payment amount?

25

Do you have any credit card debt?

Yes

 

If Yes, about how much credit card debt do you have currently?

About $3k

Do you have any other kinds of debt? If Yes, please explain:

Car payments

 

Do you know what your credit score is?

Yes

 

If Yes, what is your credit score?

687

Are you currently saving for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have saved for retirement?

Unsure

 

What does an ideal retirement look like for you?

Not struggling to live, being able to enjoy the free time by traveling and doing whatever I want to do

 

What’s your biggest purchase of 2020?

Wedding

 

Biggest purchase of your life?

Car

 

What do you spend money on that brings you joy?
Growing up poor and facing food insecurity, I love splurging on fancy grocery foods and nice dinners out

 

What are your short term money goals, if any? ( < 1 year)

Pay off as much debt as possible and find a budget system that works for us

 

What are your long term money goals, if any? ( > 1 year)

Debt free, rental property investment

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

Debt and living pay check to paycheck

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

Finally getting to a place with my fiancé where we are paying our bills on time and have extra money for some fun things.

We used to live literally paycheck to paycheck and struggle to pay our bills, let alone do anything fun or try and get ahead on debt

 

Anything we didn’t ask about you that you want to include?

My job also offers a student loan repayment program so that is going to help with our debt, but our wedding will put us a little more into credit card debt so I’m interested in seeing how all of that plays out since I’m not paying much on my loans to begin with

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

it's per$onal

Other posts you might like:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.