It’s Per$onal #86 – Age 27, Portland, Oregon

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

its personal

How old are you?

27

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Portland, OR

 

Do you like where you currently live? Why or why not?

Yes! Love having all 4 seasons and the food/coffee scene is next level.

 

What is your highest level of education?

Bachelor’s

 

Are you single / in a relationship / married?

Single

 

If you are married, do you and your spouse have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any children / dependents?

N/A

 

Do you have any pets?

Yes, one cat

 

Related content:

 

Do you find it easy or hard to make friends?

Hard, mostly due to covid and moving here right before it happened. I have really amazing friends that don’t live here, so I take trips often to visit them.

 

Do you have any hobbies? Please explain.

Do visiting new coffee shops count? Lol

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

Thankfully no

 

About how much do you spend on groceries each week?

I try to keep it around $100/week. I do have a good delivery service that is $60 a week and then I spend around $40 for my snacks/smaller meals.

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

1699

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Social Media manager for a fintech company

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

I love my job! I WFH and get great benefits. It is a lot more structured than my previous job, but I’ve actually found that I do much better with a more rigid schedule (standing meetings, weekly calls, etc.).

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

75,000 (could be 78,000 depending on bonus but a guaranteed 75k)

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

Yes, I have 2 other part time jobs. One is managing an Instagram account for a client and the other is doing freelance marketing for a family run company (around 6 hours a week)

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

1000

 

Have you ever been promoted at work? Please elaborate if so.

N/A

 

Have you ever negotiated your salary?

Yes. I negotiated my current salary and asked for 8000 more. It was already a huge salary increase for me, but I will never not negotiate again. They gave me the full 8k.

 

Are you debt-free?

No

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

N/A

 

If you do have debt, what kinds of debt (i.e. credit cards, student loans, car) and how much debt do you have?

I have some CC debt (around $3k) and student loans (around $8k). I recently paid off my car! I am working on tackling my CC debt while my interest is paused on my student loans.

 

Are you currently investing for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have invested for retirement?

$12k

 

What’s been your favorite purchase of 2021 so far?

Not exactly a purchase, but I recently moved to a new place and love it!

 

What’s one piece of advice you’d give to your younger self? (Doesn’t have to be money-related)

It’s okay to not be okay. Definitely spent a lot of my younger years telling everyone (including my therapist) that I was doing great even on days that I wasn’t. I learned that it’s okay to be emotional with people you trust because letting people in really does help!

 

What are your money goals, if any?

I want to have a full 6 month emergency fund saved, be consistently on track for retirement and be financially stable.

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

Not saving fast enough. I tend to worry about the “what ifs” a lot, so I want to make sure that I have enough saved in case anything happens.

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

Paid off my car! Also just being smarter with my money. I used to spend without thinking and now I budget and still buy fun things, I just make sure they fit in my budget and are worth it.

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

it's per$onal

Other posts you might like:


One Response

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.