It’s Per$onal #91 – Age 37, Charlotte, NC

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

its personal

How old are you?

37

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Charlotte, NC

 

Do you like where you currently live? Why or why not?

Yes! I love that it’s a smaller city so it has the city feel but also feels small. Also, southern hospitality is big here!

 

What is your highest level of education?

Bachelor’s

 

Are you single / in a relationship / married?

Single

 

If you are in a relationship / married, do you and your partner have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any children / dependents?

Yes, a 4 month old son.

 

Do you have any pets?

No

 

Related content:

 

Do you find it easy or hard to make friends?

I haven’t made a new friend in a while but i think it’s easy for me to make friends because i’m pretty personable.

 

Do you have any hobbies? Please explain.

Yes, before i had my son i loved to do crossfit. Now that i’m a new mom my hobby is spending time with my son. I hope to get some home workouts in again for my own sanity 🙂

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

When the pandemic first started we were in a stay at home order so i was working from home for about 6 weeks, that helped to save some money because i wasn’t driving to work every day.

Now that i’ve had a baby most of those savings went towards supporting myself during my maternity leave that wasn’t paid.

 

About how much do you spend on groceries each week?

$75

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

938

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

I am an Assistant Project Manager for a Residential Custom Home Builder

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

I love my job! The company i work for is a larger family company so i like that it’s personal and i don’t feel like just another employee.

My coworkers are mostly fun to work with (construction is stressful) and we are always busy and doing super cool projects.

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

$57,750

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

No

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

n/a

 

Have you ever been promoted at work? Please elaborate if so.

Yes, my job title has stayed the same but my duties have changed and i’ve gotten compensated for my extra duties.

 

Have you ever negotiated your salary?

Yes

 

Are you debt-free?

No

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

N/A

If you do have debt, what kinds of debt (i.e. credit cards, student loans, car) and how much debt do you have?

I have credit card and student loan debt totaling about $90,000. When i first graduated from college i had a hard time finding a job so i worked a bunch of part time jobs.

I did that for about 5 years then got a fulltime job at a non profit that didn’t pay that well so i did most of my living through credit cards. About 7 years ago i finally got a good job that paid decent but i continued to pay minimums on my credit cards and use them if needed.

I finally got serious about paying off my debt about 2 years ago, then i had a baby and things are on hold because i am a single mom and am paying for everything for him on my own.

I’m currently figuring out a way to lower interest rates and consolidate my debt to help me pay lower payments every month. It’s a struggle but i know i will figure something out!

 

Are you currently investing for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have invested for retirement?

$28,000

 

What’s been your favorite purchase of 2021 so far?

Stuff for my son.

 

What’s one piece of advice you’d give to your younger self? (Doesn’t have to be money-related)

Save, save, save!!

 

What are your money goals, if any?

Pay off credit card debt by 40.

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

My debt.

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

Finding a budget that works for me.

 

What makes you imperfect?

My money habits.

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

it's per$onal

Other posts you might like:


Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
Picture of About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.

"It's Per$onal" is a super popular and anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women all over the world. Check it out!

If you like this post, you might like these, too!