It’s Per$onal #92 – Age 30, Des Moines, IA

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

its personal

Today’s post features Amelia (check her out on Instagram! @ameliajorei).

This is actually Amelia’s second survey in the “It’s Per$onal” series!

To read her first ever “It’s Per$onal” post and see how far she has come since then, click here.

 

What’s your name?

Amelia

 

How old are you?

30

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Des Moines, IA

 

Do you like where you currently live? Why or why not?

Yes! Des Moines has everything I could want in a city. The cost of living is low and the airport is easy to navigate when I want to travel.

 

What is your highest level of education?

Bachelor’s

 

Are you single / in a relationship / married?

In a relationship

 

If you are in a relationship / married, do you and your partner have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any children / dependents?

No

 

Do you have any pets?

No

 

Related content:

 

Do you find it easy or hard to make friends?

Easy! I like meeting new people but I like to keep my circle of close friends small.

 

Do you have any hobbies? Please explain.

All the hobbies! Traveling, hiking, swimming, pickleball, board games, reading, snowshoeing. I am an Enneagram 7 so I’m always up to try something new.

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

No.

 

About how much do you spend on groceries each week?

$150 together with my partner

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

1800

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Self employed real estate investor

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

Love it. I’ve always aspired to be self employed and I finally made the jump 4 months ago and have not regretted it at all.

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

I pay myself a salary of around $50,000/year. I reinvest the excess back into buying more properties.

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

Yes. I still bartend at a craft brewery one night a week for fun.

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

$500

 

Have you ever been promoted at work? Please elaborate if so.

Yes back in the W2 world but now that I’m my own boss I don’t have to worry about ~pRoMoTiOnS~

 

Have you ever negotiated your salary?

Yes in a past life

 

Are you debt-free?

Yes

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

Personal/consumer debt free – $33k in student loans in about 5 years ($19k in final year)

 

If you do have debt, what kinds of debt (i.e. credit cards, student loans, car) and how much debt do you have?

I have business/mortgage debt on the properties I own.

 

Are you currently investing for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have invested for retirement?

$500/mo

 

What’s been your favorite purchase of 2021 so far?

All of my properties. I need to splurge on something for myself soon, though.

 

What’s one piece of advice you’d give to your younger self? (Doesn’t have to be money-related)

Eliminate your living expenses by house-hacking a multifamily property!

 

What are your money goals, if any?

$10k/mo passive income in 2 years

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

None really. Just making sure I have hefty emergency funds for my properties.

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

Paying off my student loans and car loan early. Investing in myself by getting started in real estate investing even though I didn’t know everything.

 

What makes you imperfect?

HAHA. I cuss too much.

 

To read Amelia’s first ever “It’s Per$onal” post, click here. Or, check her out on Instagram!

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

it's per$onal

Other posts you might like:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.