It’s Per$onal #127 – Age 30, Berlin, CT

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

How old are you?

30

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Berlin, CT

 

Do you like where you currently live? Why or why not?

Yes and no. I live in a safe quiet area of town and my neighbors are great; however, there isn’t any diversity and the other week pamphlets to essentially join a ‘White power’ extremist group were found scattered along various streets. This is a big concern.

 

What is your highest level of education?

Bachelor’s

 

Are you single / in a relationship / married?

Married

 

If you are in a relationship / married, do you and your partner have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any hobbies? Please explain.

Hiking, reading, writing, meditation, beginner yoga

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

No, I was very lucky. I was able to work from home in the beginning of Covid-19 but have since returned to the workplace location.

 

About how much do you spend on groceries each week?

It varies but between $50 – $100 a week depending on needs. I always try to keep staples on hand so its usually running out for filler items for specific meals.

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

900

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Teacher

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

$50,000

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

I’ve taught summer school in the past. I took this summer off to be home with new baby.

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

It usually pays about an extra $2,000, depending on hours and length of summer program

 

Have you ever been promoted at work? Please elaborate if so.

N/A

 

Have you ever negotiated your salary?

N/A

 

Are you debt-free?

Yes

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

I paid off approximately $30,000 of student loan debt for bachelor’s degree. It took about 5 years. Currently paying for my Master’s degree in cash. It’s taking me longer to complete the degree, but I did not want to take on any debt.

Also recently paid off hospital bills for 1st child’s birth that was about $9,000 total.

 

If you do have debt, what kinds of debt (i.e. credit cards, student loans, car) and how much debt do you have?

N/A

 

Are you currently investing for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have invested for retirement?

$15,000 in a ROTH IRA

 

What’s been your favorite purchase of 2022 so far?

While I would have preferred no bill, I’d have to say my hospital bill after struggling with infertility for 2.5 years.

 

What are your money goals, if any?

Continue to save for retirement, continue to add to college savings plan

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

Looking to possibly switch career so I can better support my family… not much room for salary growth

 

What makes you imperfect?

Struggle with mental health (anxiety)

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

it's per$onal


Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn

You'll Also Love...

It's Per$onal is an anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women.

It’s Per$onal #178 – Age 32, Valencia, CA

  How old are you? 32 Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.) Valencia, CA Do you like where you currently live? Why or why not? No, we want to move out of Los Angeles county. Valencia is nice but it’s temporary and there’s

Read More »
Picture of About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women. Learn more about Taylor here.

"It's Per$onal" is a super popular and anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women all over the world. Check it out!

If you like this post, you might like these, too!