It’s Per$onal #56 – Age 30, Encinitas, CA

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

its personal

Name:

Kelsey

 

How old are you?

30

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Encinitas, CA

 

What is your highest level of education?

Bachelor’s

 

Are you single or married?

Single

 

If you are married, do you and your spouse have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any children or dependents? If yes, please explain.

No

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

875

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

Luckily, No.

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Accountant

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

110,000

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

Yes, I do! Relatively new role, still learning the team and business.

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

Not currently.

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

N/A

 

Do you budget on a consistent basis? If so, please explain how you currently budget:

I do my best to, but impulse/’cheer-me-up’ purchases are my downfall.

 

Are you debt-free?

No

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

$15k car, $10k credit cards, various financed-purchases. 2-3 years (I still have a mortgage, though).

 

Do you have any student loan debt currently?

No

 

If yes, about how much student loan debt do you have?

$0

 

What is your monthly student loan payment amount?

$0

 

Do you have any credit card debt?

Yes

 

If Yes, about how much credit card debt do you have currently?

$5,000

 

Do you have any other kinds of debt? If Yes, please explain:

I owe monthly for a couch I financed.

 

Do you know what your credit score is?

Yes

 

If Yes, what is your credit score?

820

 

Are you currently saving for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have saved for retirement?

110,000

 

What does an ideal retirement look like for you?

Stable, Financially free, without having to count pennies.

 

What’s your biggest purchase of 2020?

A new couch – $3,000

 

Biggest purchase of your life?

My Condo

 

What do you spend money on that brings you joy?

Things for the house, plants, small joys like new sheets. Also don’t mind spending when it comes to activities that make me happy (sailing, golf, camping/trips, etc.)

 

What are your short term money goals, if any? ( < 1 year)

To build up a bigger emergency fund. Start saving for a vacation next year, so I don’t end up with credit card debt like I did after my last big trip.

 

What are your long term money goals, if any? ( > 1 year)
Save for retirement, #1. Trying to save for a down payment for a house one day (currently own a condo), which I’d like to rent out one day, if possible.

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

Sticking to a budget, which cuts into what my savings potential could be.

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?
Having a positive net worth, even with owing a mortgage!

 

Anything we didn’t ask about you that you want to include?

N/A

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

it's per$onal

Other posts you might like:


Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
Picture of About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.

"It's Per$onal" is a super popular and anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women all over the world. Check it out!

If you like this post, you might like these, too!