It’s Per$onal #57 – Age 31, Canada

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

its personal

Name:

FrugalTaurus (Megan)

 

How old are you?

31

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Canada

 

What is your highest level of education?

Bachelor’s

 

Are you single or married?

Living w Partner

 

If you are married, do you and your spouse have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any children or dependents? If yes, please explain.

No

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

625

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

Yes- unemployed for 4 months

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Program Coordinator

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

$19,951

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

Yes and no. Work is great, pay is not

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

I work part time as a network organizer for a non profit

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

Approx $1,000 depending on hours worked

 

Do you budget on a consistent basis? If so, please explain how you currently budget:

I loosely budget. I usually estimate how much each budget line will cost in a given month and vaguely follow it

 

Are you debt-free?

No

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

N/A

 

Do you have any student loan debt currently?

No

 

If yes, about how much student loan debt do you have?

45,000

 

What is your monthly student loan payment amount?

752

 

Do you have any credit card debt?

No

 

If Yes, about how much credit card debt do you have currently?

N/A

 

Do you have any other kinds of debt? If Yes, please explain:

N/A

 

Do you know what your credit score is?

Yes

 

If Yes, what is your credit score?

795

 

Are you currently saving for retirement?

No

 

If yes, about how much do you have saved for retirement?

 

What does an ideal retirement look like for you?

Relatively stress free regarding money. I hope to travel, if I’ve saved enough and spend my summers at a cottage

 

What’s your biggest purchase of 2020?

A $300 mattress

 

Biggest purchase of your life?

My degree

 

What do you spend money on that brings you joy?

Food LOL

 

What are your short term money goals, if any? ( < 1 year)

Pay off my LOC and fund 6 months of my EF

 

What are your long term money goals, if any? ( > 1 year)
Debt free by 35 and in my own home by then

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

Being laid off in January

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?
Paying off 22k in student debt so far

 

Anything we didn’t ask about you that you want to include?

My student debt is currently in repayment assistance as I dont make enough to pay the full amount monthly

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

it's per$onal

Other posts you might like:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.