It’s Per$onal #59 – Age 29, Philadelphia, PA

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

its personal

Name:

Andi

 

How old are you?

29

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Philadelphia, PA

 

What is your highest level of education?

Doctorate

 

Are you single or married?

Single

 

If you are married, do you and your spouse have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any children or dependents? If yes, please explain.

No

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

567

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

Less job security as I work for a small non profit but thankfully still employed (just saving more)

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Program director for a non profit

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

56,000

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

It’s hard to say. I like creating and managing programs and the actual description of my job but the people I work with are toxic

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

No

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

N/A

 

Do you budget on a consistent basis? If so, please explain how you currently budget:

Yes. I use cash envelopes and prioritize building my emergency savings beyond 2k, paying cash for my tuition, and paying down my first student loan . My bills come to 2,100 and month and I spend about 700 on food, gas, household items, etc.

 

Are you debt-free?

No

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

N/A

 

Do you have any student loan debt currently?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much student loan debt do you have?

286,000

 

What is your monthly student loan payment amount?

56

 

Do you have any credit card debt?

No

 

If Yes, about how much credit card debt do you have currently?

N/A

 

Do you have any other kinds of debt? If Yes, please explain:

No. My student loans are in deferment because I am still finishing my doctorate degree. (In my last year and a half)

 

Do you know what your credit score is?

Yes

 

If Yes, what is your credit score?

603

 

Are you currently saving for retirement?

No

 

If yes, about how much do you have saved for retirement?

N/A

 

What does an ideal retirement look like for you?

Living comfortably and being able to do what I want without worrying

 

What’s your biggest purchase of 2020?

$35 jeans

 

Biggest purchase of your life?

My doctoral degree

 

What do you spend money on that brings you joy?

My family. I love being able to visit my family and take my sister to lunch or treat her to shopping. I also enjoy being able to go on a getaway (weekend in another city) when I want to

 

What are your short term money goals, if any? ( < 1 year)

Pay off my smallest private loan (6k)

 

What are your long term money goals, if any? ( > 1 year)
Pay off my student loans before I’m 50

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

Being able to pay off my student loans before I die and being able to save money for a comfortable retirement

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

Starting a budget and being able to save 7k during the year when I used to live paycheck to paycheck

 

Anything we didn’t ask about you that you want to include?

N/A

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

it's per$onal

Other posts you might like:


Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
Picture of About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.

"It's Per$onal" is a super popular and anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women all over the world. Check it out!

If you like this post, you might like these, too!