It’s Per$onal #72 – Age 39, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

its personal

Name:

Heather

 

How old are you?

39

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

 

What is your highest level of education?

Associate’s

 

Are you single or married?

Divorced

 

If you are married, do you and your spouse have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any children or dependents? If yes, please explain.

3 yo boy, 6 yo girl, three cats and a dog

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

800

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

No

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Emg technologist

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

$85,000

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

I love my job. I am well respected and well paid for what I do. My benefits are good. My hours are good.

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

No

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

N/a

 

Do you budget on a consistent basis? If so, please explain how you currently budget:

I paper/pen budget. I know what my expenses are, and my debt. I allocate money to my savings first, then bills And debt, and then extras.

 

Are you debt-free?

No

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

N/A

Do you have any student loan debt currently?

No

 

If yes, about how much student loan debt do you have?

N/A

 

What is your monthly student loan payment amount?

N/A

Do you have any credit card debt?

Yes

 

If Yes, about how much credit card debt do you have currently?

700

Do you have any other kinds of debt? If Yes, please explain:

Line of credit at $28,500

 

Do you know what your credit score is?

Yes

 

If Yes, what is your credit score?

Mid 700s

Are you currently saving for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have saved for retirement?

$56,000 in RRSPs

 

What does an ideal retirement look like for you?

That I have enough money to live comfortably on

 

What’s your biggest purchase of 2020?

It will be materials to redo my flooded basement that is half gutted

 

Biggest purchase of your life?

My house in 2008

 

What do you spend money on that brings you joy?
Bubble tea. Dollarama. School supplies. Snack containers

 

What are your short term money goals, if any? ( < 1 year)

Complete my sinking fund for my furnace. Pay as much onto my car as possible

 

What are your long term money goals, if any? ( > 1 year)

Pay off car. Pay down line of credit

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

How do I save for what I need along with redoing my flooded basement. And pay down my debt

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

I can live quite comfortably off just my salary and budget for the things I need. I’ve saved $3800 towards a new furnace and paid down my car debt by a good couple thousand this year. I’ve also paid off the joint MasterCard with my ex, all while trying to figure out my basement renos

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

it's per$onal

Other posts you might like:


Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
Picture of About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.

"It's Per$onal" is a super popular and anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women all over the world. Check it out!

If you like this post, you might like these, too!