It’s Per$onal #41 – Age 30, Cincinnati, OH

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

its personal

Name:

Emily

 

How old are you?

30

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Cincinnati, Ohio

 

What is your highest level of education?

Bachelor’s

 

Are you single or married?

Married

 

If you are married, do you and your spouse have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any children or dependents? If yes, please explain.

None

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

1118

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

No

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Pediatric psych RN

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

52,000

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

I like my job most of the time. I love all of the kids I work with and my coworkers but it can be very stressful. Also don’t like working weekends and holidays even if it means more money.

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

No

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

N/A

 

Do you budget on a consistent basis? If so, please explain how you currently budget:

I use YNAB religiously, and have for almost 5 years. My husband does not budget but I use YNAB for our joint account as well to keep us on track

 

Are you debt-free?

No

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

N/A

 

Do you have any student loan debt currently?

No

 

If yes, about how much student loan debt do you have?

N/A

 

What is your monthly student loan payment amount?

N/A

 

Do you have any credit card debt?

No

 

If Yes, about how much credit card debt do you have currently?

N/A

 

Do you have any other kinds of debt? If Yes, please explain:

My only debt is our mortgage which we recently refinanced to a 10 year at 2.79% so we are in no hurry to pay it off.

 

Do you know what your credit score is?

Yes

 

If Yes, what is your credit score?

813

 

Are you currently saving for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have saved for retirement?

$425k

 

What does an ideal retirement look like for you?

We hope to retire in about 10 years when I am 40 and travel for a while. Then I would like to get involved in some kind of volunteer work.

 

What’s your biggest purchase of 2020 so far?

No big purchases yet this year

 

Biggest purchase of your life?

House

 

What do you spend money on that brings you joy?

When there isn’t a pandemic l, I enjoy spending money on travel with my husband and family.

 

What are your short term money goals, if any? ( < 1 year)

Updates around the house, nothing major

 

What are your long term money goals, if any? ( > 1 year)

Saving for early retirement. Current savings rate is around 53% and I would like to increase that.

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

No raise at work this year (working in healthcare affected by COVID) so I am trying to advance to RN II to get a 6% raise

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

Saving over 50% of my income while not making a ton. Being on track to retire early

 

Anything we didn’t ask about you that you want to include?

Being married with separate finances we split bills based on our income as a percentage of total household income.

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

it's per$onal

 

Other posts you might like:

Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn

You'll Also Love...

It's Per$onal is an anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women.

It’s Per$onal #178 – Age 32, Valencia, CA

  How old are you? 32 Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.) Valencia, CA Do you like where you currently live? Why or why not? No, we want to move out of Los Angeles county. Valencia is nice but it’s temporary and there’s

Read More »
Picture of About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women. Learn more about Taylor here.

"It's Per$onal" is a super popular and anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women all over the world. Check it out!

If you like this post, you might like these, too!