It’s Per$onal #42 – Age 30, Raleigh, NC

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

its personal

Name:

Katie

 

How old are you?

30

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Raleigh, NC

 

What is your highest level of education?

Bachelor’s

 

Are you single or married?

In a relationship

 

If you are married, do you and your spouse have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any children or dependents? If yes, please explain.

No

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

1580

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

I work in grocery, so my job got crazy in the beginning of the pandemic. My company gave us an extra $2 per hour from mid-March through June to support those who continued to work in the public. However, the pandemic changed our profitability significantly, so then we did not get our biannual raise in July (3% raise).

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Grocery Store Department Manager

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

$66,000

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

It’s okay for now. My company really cares about its employees for the most part. But working in the public is exhausting sometimes!

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

I shop for Shipt occasionally.

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

I’ve made $600 so far this year – I do it very sporadically.

 

Do you budget on a consistent basis? If so, please explain how you currently budget:

I don’t budget. I pay myself first – pre-tax retirement savings, and then $150/week into a savings account. I get paid weekly so I typically pay my credit card bills off first paycheck, then save for rent with the next two. Any extra money at the end of the month goes to my savings account. I try to spend mindfully.

 

Are you debt-free?

Yes

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

approx $26,000 of student loans. Paid off in 2 years after college (I moved back home after college so lived essentially for free #privilege)

 

Do you have any student loan debt currently?

No

 

If yes, about how much student loan debt do you have?

N/A

 

What is your monthly student loan payment amount?

N/A

 

Do you have any credit card debt?

No

 

If Yes, about how much credit card debt do you have currently?

N/A

 

Do you have any other kinds of debt? If Yes, please explain:

No

 

Do you know what your credit score is?

Yes

 

If Yes, what is your credit score?

803

 

Are you currently saving for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have saved for retirement?

Save 18% per paycheck. Currently have $103,000 split between 401k and Roth IRA

 

What does an ideal retirement look like for you?

House paid off, living off investments with freedom to travel as desired. May work part time.

 

What’s your biggest purchase of 2020 so far?

Um… my new bike? $500. Travel is my biggest expense – hotel rooms/eating at restaurants.

 

Biggest purchase of your life?

My car – $15,000 paid in cash.

 

What do you spend money on that brings you joy?

I splurge on eating out, definitely. My girlfriend and I love champagne and oysters 🙂

 

What are your short term money goals, if any? ( < 1 year)

Continue to save for my house downpayment. I am currently 48% of the way to $55,000

 

What are your long term money goals, if any? ( > 1 year)

Complete saving for my house downpayment and purchase a house. I am currently 48% of the way to $55,000.

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

My girlfriend has some significant debt at this time. So getting her to be open to discussing it and work towards paying it off.

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

I would say paying off my student loans and just generally living a frugal life.

 

Anything we didn’t ask about you that you want to include?

N/A

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

it's per$onal

 

Other posts you might like:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.